Webinar 17-08: CU: Integrative Mgt of Chronic Sensitized Pain, Jay Ginsberg

Register Now

Details

July 21, 2017
Your Desk - 11:00 am Pacific, Noon Mountain, 1:00 pm Central, 2pm Eastern



Description

Emerging data from ongoing research on Autonomic Self-Regulation (ASR), case studies, and clinical experiences will show how ASR can help manage centrally sensitized chronic pain, and how heart rate variability (HRVB) brings to patients bottom-up physiological coherence and top-down empowerment that leads to reduction in pain's interference in daily activity, as well as reduction in stress and depression. This webinar will delve into the basic science of HRV and its relationship to ASR, discuss HRV parameters, show how to practice of ASR, and explore how many pain chronic pain conditions such as musculoskeletal injury, fibromyalgia, and irritable bowel syndrome benefit from ASR.

Dr. Ginsberg is a licensed clinical psychologist and neuropsychologist at the Dorn VA Medical Center, Columbia, SC, where he is an advocate for integrative health and wellness using mind-body treatments for pain and PTSD. He has authored or co-authored more than 30 peer-reviewed publications, served as a scientist reviewer of research grant proposals, and edited numerous scientific articles. Dr. Ginsberg is co-principal investigator on both a VA-funded study of HRV Biofeedback (HRVB) treatment of chronic pain and a study of symptom cluster reduction in cancer survivors by HRVB. Dr. Ginsberg is co-author with Melanie Berry, MS, BCB, of a published study of the use of HRVB for chronic pain in veterans.


Conference Registration

Pass Name Description
Main Registration


Events

Event Name Date Time Description
Webinar 17-08: Clinical Update: Integrative Mgt of Chronic Sensitized Pain Jul 21, 2017 12:00 PM -
1:30 PM MT
What will participants learn:
1. Define chronic sensitized pain and Autonomic Self-Regulation (ASR)
2. Describe the basic science of heart rate variability (HRV) and its relationship to ASR
3. Summarize the nervous system pathways shared by chronic sensitized pain and ASR
4. Describe the application of ASR to chronic sensitized pain
5. Identify HRV parameters that are biomarkers of poor emotional and physical health
6. Discuss how ASR can be used for health assessment and behavioral change
7. Explain ASR techniques and tools.